Homemade Pumpkin Peanut Butter Treats.

This past weekend, I was looking up some recipes on Pinterest when I stumbled upon this dog treat recipe! Delilah already loves peanut butter, so I wondered if she would like this preservative free homemade treat with peanut butter and pumpkin. Turns out she LOVES the treats! Here’s how I made them.

IMG_4038

First, I bought old fashion oats,  a 15 oz can of pumpkin puree, whole wheat flour, and all natural peanut butter (already had the cinnamon in my spice cabinet and eggs in the fridge).  The cinnamon was optional, but I decided to use it because I love its smell.  In this recipe though, do NOT use pumpkin spice as a substitute for the cinnamon.  The pumpkin spice has nutmeg in it which is poisonous to dogs.

IMG_4006

Preheat the over to 350°F.  In one bowl, mix together the 3 cups of whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup of oats, and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon.  In another bowl, whisk the 2 eggs, can of pumpkin puree, and 3 tablespoons of all natural peanut butter.

IMG_4007

Once the wet ingredients are whisked together,  combine the pumpkin puree mixture little by little to the dry mixture.  It will end up looking like this.

IMG_4008

The pumpkin puree will make the dough still very moist so you’re going to want to use more whole wheat flour while kneading and rolling out the dough.  There was an option of using rice flour or gluten free flour as well, but with the whole wheat flour, it will absorb that excess wetness and will leave a soft dough. After you add the flour, roll it out and cut it into shapes (I used mini fall like cookie cutters).

IMG_4010

Put the cut-out dough on to a cookie pan or a cooking stone.  I used my cooking stone because it helps cook my food evenly, and it’s also an easy cleanup which is great for me since that’s something I hate doing after cooking.

IMG_4014

Then I put them in the oven and baked them for 15-17 minutes.  Baking times can differ though because of how thin and small your dough cut-outs are. Once they’re out of the oven, let them cool so they can harden completely.

Delilah did not hesitate at all to try the first treat (if you click on the link, turn down your volume first), and I don’t blame her! My apartment smelled delicious while they were baking!

IMG_4016IMG_4017

If you try the recipe, I hope your dog enjoys it as much as my little puppy did. :)

 

Leave a Reply

